About NIT Rourkela

Welcome to NIT Rourkela

NIT Rourkela is one of the institutes of national importance under Ministry of Education, Government of India. Government of India has elevated the Regional Engineering College, Rourkela to an autonomous institution under the name of National Institute of Technology, Rourkela.

It is a privilege for me to have assumed the position of Director, NIT Rourkela, on 18th February 2022. NIT Rourkela has a rich legacy of sixty dedicated years of service to the nation and is the pride of Odisha. Excellence in teaching and high-quality research are the pillars on which the Institute is built. The Institute aims to foster 21st-century skills and competencies supported by defined learning frameworks and industrial internships for the students as part of Industry 4.0. With these skillsets, our students are future-ready to make an impact at work in general and society in particular.

Long-term innovative research support systems like Center of Excellence, under the ambit of Advanced Research Centre (ARC), will aid in achieving a noticeable imprint in AI & ML, smart technology in mining & metallurgy, energy & environment, and global warming. Read More >>

Prof. K. Umamaheshwar Rao

To become an internationally acclaimed institution of higher learning that will serve as a source of knowledge and expertise for the society and be a preferred destination for undergraduate and graduate studies.

To advance and spread knowledge in the area of science and technology leading to creation of wealth and welfare of humanity.

The campus of the Institute consisting of the Institute buildings, halls of residence and staff colony is situated at the eastern end of Rourkela steel city, beyond Sector-1 over an area of 262 hectares of land provided by the Government of Orissa. It is a residential campus offering accommodation to faculty, staff and students. The campus has all the amenities for developing personal, social and academic skills of the student community. Read More >>

Rankings - 2023

One Step Towards Success


NIRF Engg.


NIRF Arch.


NIRF Research


NIRF Overall

Admission 2023-24

Latest News

Innovate, Integrate, Motivate


What’s happening @ NITR

Upcoming Events

Beyond All Limits


Creating New Innovations


Innovate, Integrate, Motivate


Empowering People


Dream, Create, Inspire






Research Scholars


Executive Ph.D.









Education @ NITR

Where everyone strives to attain their potential



NIT Rourkela offers B.Tech in 12 disciplines, Dual Degrees in 4 disciplines, Integrated M.Sc. in 4 disciplines and B.Arch programmme. Each programme is designed to achieve a balance between depth of knowledge acquired through specialization and breadth of knowledge gained through exploration.



NIT Rourkela offers M.Tech., M.Sc., M.A. and MBA postgraduate programmes. The PG programmes at NIT Rourkela are designed to develop the quality of scientific and engineering manpower and also cater to the needs of industry and R&D organizations.

Research Programmes

Research Programmes

NIT Rourkela provides facilities for research leading to the degree of Ph.D. in Engineering, Science, Humanities, Management and Social Sciences in various disciplines. Research at NIT Rourkela is nurtured through Institute Fellowship / Assistantship and through sponsorship funded by national organizations or by the industries.

Executive Research Programmes

Executive Research Programmes

NIT Rourkela has opened its doors for working professionals. These programmes are designed to enable them to pursue higher study while continuing in their Job/Profession in order to help them to accelerate their career.

Part Time Programmes

Part Time Programmes

NIT Rourkela offers Part Time Programmes M.Tech. and MBA for working professionals. These programmes are designed to enable them to pursue higher study while continuing in their Job/Profession in order to help them to accelerate their career.

Campus Life

Make a Real Splash in Life

The Institute provides its students with world-class sports facilities which include a Football –Hockey stadium named DILIP TIRCKEY STADIUM. It also houses a gymnasium with all the modern facilities. Apart from that, we also have the SACHIN TENDULKAR CRICKET GROUND equipped with flood lights. We also have two tennis courts, a basketball court with separate timings for male and female students.

Games ad Sports

Entertainment plays a vital role in refreshing the tired minds and renewing enthusiasm. We invite experts/exponents in varied forms of music and dance to impart training to our students, screening movies on regular basis in the Bhubaneswar Behera Auditorium for students and the staff members, organizing an annual music night, annual photography contest, conducting celebrity night during the cultural festival, conducting a weeklong film festival once in a year and facilitating the practice sessions for the students.


India has a long history in the performing arts. The great Indian epics have always formed the theme for many of our plays. The performing arts include dance, music, theatre and literature in its most compact definition. We present the students a conduit to bring out their extra academic talents. The benefits of extra academic activities and a venue for their performance cannot be overstated.

Literary and Cultural

The Institute promotes and encourages technical innovations and entrepreneurship among students by organizing modeling-workshops, Technical Seminars, Training Courses etc.


Thought of the Day

Indecision and delays are the parents of failure.
--George Canning--

Word of the Day