NIT ROURKELA

NIT Rourkela has a diversified academic program with 17 The Mechanical Engineering Department at NIT Rourkela is academic departments offering specialized courses at undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral levels of studies. The Institute currently offers 21 undergraduate programs in the major disciplines of engineering, architecture, science, humanities and management, and post graduate programs in diversified fields of research areas. The Institute offers distinct programs such as B.Tech in Food Process Engineering, Biotechnology and Medical Engineering, Ceramic Engineering as well as Bachelor of Architecture to meet the demands of contemporary times. While the academic programs offered by NIT Rourkela are in tune with the National Education Policy, the quality of education is continuously upgraded by periodical revision of syllabi based on the needs of industry and academia. With different inclusive initiatives and the introduction of a standardized education policy, over the years, the Institute's graduates have been great performers at professional fronts in India and abroad. With the focus on teaching and learning across departmental boundaries, the mix-technology and management skills, NITians have been valuable assets to our country.

OSRTC

Odisha State Road Transport Corporation or OSRTC founded in 1. Vehicle management 1974 is the state owned road transport corporation in the eastern Indian state of Odisha. It is acknowledged for its distinguished service for safe and lowest cost of operation with a fleet of 636 buses. Currently it has 201-500 employees. The objectives of the The course will also include laboratory demonstration and bus Organization are to provide safe and comfortable transport to passengers which the public can have confidence in, and to connect remote /tribal areas which are otherwise not well-attended to the mainstream and thereby fulfill its social commitment.





MECHANICAL ENGINEERING DEPARTMENT

renowned for its cutting-edge research across a wide array of fields. The department's primary research areas encompass mechanical vibrations, robotics, CAD or CAM, precision engineering, metal forming, manufacturing, computational fluid dynamics (CFD), industrial refrigeration, and cryogenics. The academic program not only covers the core aspects of mechanical engineering but also integrates the specialized research interests of the faculty. Currently, the department boasts over one hundred research scholars engaged in diverse projects. The faculty is organized into three divisions and six research groups, each maintaining its unique identity while fostering close collaboration. Numerous Research and Development projects led by the faculty receive funding from both government agencies and private industry. Major sponsors include prominent organizations such as BRNS, DST, DAE, CSIR, DRDO, BARC, ISRO, alongside various private sector companies.

ABOUT THE COURSE

The course will be conducted only for professionals of Odisha State Road Transport Corporation, Odisha. The course will mainly focus on the following major areas:

- Depot management
- 3. Transport policies

depot visits during the course. Participation certificate will be issued to participants having secured satisfactory performance in the examination which will be conducted on last day of the course.

COURSE COORDINATORS

Prof. S. Murugan (Mobile: 9437140949)

email: murugans@nitrkl.ac.in

and

Prof. Bukke Kiran Naik (Mobile: 94356 86059)

Department of Mechanical Engineering, National Institute of Technology Rourkela, Odisha State.

ACCOMMODATION

Boarding and lodging will be provided in the male and female hostels at the Institute. Contact the following for any query related accommodation during the course.

Mr. Harshit Shrivatsava (97708 67716) Mr. Lalit Vidyasagar (96939 99065)





CAPACITY BUILDING COURSE FOR OSRTC PROFESSIONALS

3 - 8 June 2024

CHIEF PATRONS

Prof. K. Umamaheshwar Rao

Director, NIT Rourkela and

Shri. Diptesh Kumar Pattnayak, IPS

Chairman Cum Managing Director OSRTC, Bhubaneswar

PATRON

Shri. Laxmikanta Sethy

Additional Secretary(LAccMI) OSRTC, Bhubaneswar

CHAIRMAN

Prof. Saroj Kumar Patel

Head

Mechanical Engineering Department NIT Rourkela and

ORGANIZED BY

Department of Mechanical Engineering National Institute of Technology, Rourkela

SPONSORED BY

Odisha State Road Transport Corporation (OSRTC) Bhubaneswar Odisha State